top of page

Hello from "Hello!"


Me vs BLUE soccer field


Yay! Welcome to the "Hello!" project blog. My name is Sandi. I am looking forward to update with you about my 2020 artist-in-residence journey at the West Richmond community centre.


So why "Hello"?


Let's threw back to the time when I was still working on my application for this residency application. I took a chance to visit the West Richmond community centre. I remembered that was a weekday afternoon. I saw an elder, who was sitting alone at the Seniors’ Fitness Circuit and hoping to connect with kids in the Children Play Area.


Growing up, sometimes I felt I am getting more and more disconnected with my elders. Especially now, when we live in different countries, many times I don't know how to go beyond daily conversation such as Have you eaten? or What did you make for your dinner? I always want to build a deeper connection with them, to share my own growth story and to learn about their life experiences. However, we are not very good at expressing ourselves directly through words.


How to bridge the gap among generations? How to go beyond from “Hello” to start a meaningful conversation despite of the cultural and language barriers? Thinking about my personal story and observing the elder at the Fitness Circuit at West Richmond, I was inspired to open up this conversation with the community in creative ways.


Let's exchange our stories and have fun together! :)

27 views0 comments
bottom of page